Starting somewhere

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by Eld, Mar 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Eld

Eld Member

Hello, everyone. This is my first time posting anything about myself.

I have written drafts of what I want to say before, but I always end up deleting them. In fact, I tried to make a draft of the things I want to say now, but they ended up being over 2 pages. So I started over.

Now I just want to keep things simple and start somewhere before I get rid of another draft.

I think that I am unwell, and getting worse. It is not exactly extreme, but it has been in a state of constant decline over the past 6 years. Things started with feelings of loneliness, then escalated as my life slowly went out of control. Although it had been only episodes of sadness, I started getting nervous breakdowns a couple of years ago. These days, I am frequently going through periods of intense isolation and loneliness. I sometimes get headaches, so I take Panadol. I need lots of caffeine to force myself to get up and work. I also started self-harm a few years ago, though I only do things that don't leave marks, like hitting and biting. A hour ago, I was jabbing my legs with a letter opener.

I have been managing my feelings with reasoning and willpower, so I don't "lose it". To my friends and families, I appear mostly reliable and trustworthy. I have also managed to get two bachelor degrees, one of them being a bachelor of law with honours. But in reality, no one in my life knows just how much of a mess I really am. I am afraid to tell them: my friends, because I don't want them to know this much about me; my parents, because I owe them enough not to cause any more trouble for them. My reason and control have been slipping, and it is taking longer and longer before I can suppress those painful feelings. Escapism helps, but too often I can't immerse myself in anything for long before the feelings return to me.