Still Here

Discussion in 'After Effects' started by mytime, Oct 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mytime

mytime Active Member

Hi Everyone

This is my first post so please excuse the length. I joined SF a couple of months ago. I'd forgotten I'd joined till I arrived back home from hospital after a failed attempt but clearly I was looking for something, I'm not sure what.

I've probably had Clinical Depression for about 10 years. Looking back, with the help of various mental health staff, I have a combination of genetic and child hood "issues" that put me at higher risk for depression. They also give me some personality traits that, while mostly have a positive effect on my life, mean I am not good at recognising my limits, enforcing boundaries, asking for help or generally looking after myself. I'm aware of these issues and, most of the time, I manage them fine. I don't spend a lot of time "looking back" and generally don't have a lot of "sad" thoughts. When I experience depression, it's generally as deep weariness. Like every movement I make takes a huge effort. It's as if I live my life in a jar of honey and every movement I make I have to fight against it's resistance. One of those character traits is I'm very strong willed. Often this is a blessing because I can generally make myself carry on. But, that gets me into trouble too because sometimes I think I can force my way through a crisis when I can't.