Struggles with communicating with others

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by sadhart, Jul 25, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sadhart

sadhart Well-Known Member

I wanted to put this in the crisis section, but I'm not sure it really fits, even though I feel very overwhelmed right now. For many years now, I have struggled with communicating. I'm not sure why other than I know on my end there is a lot of holding back. Six years ago, I experienced a very painful rejection and one of the reasons why I was rejected (aside from not being man enough as she said in so many words) was that I was awkward. I would see how she interacted with others guys and what was funny was that they didn't really have to do or say much of anything....she pretty much carried the conversation. But for whatever reason, I am different, not just when it came to her but others as well. I am not good at talking...at all. I mean I just don't find simple conversations easy. Even back when I was drinking, I struggled with socializing. Without alcohol, it feels much worse.