Struggling with Video Game addiction

Discussion in 'Self Harm & Substance Abuse' started by Pry, Apr 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pry

Pry Member

I know this may seem kind of odd but....

I'm having a big problem with addiction to a game called "World of Warcraft." I've been playing for around 2 or 3 years now and have played well over 3-4+ THOUSAND hours across all of my characters (not exaggerating, I just checked 2 characters and ended up at around 2500 hours, I have 2 or 3 more at max level, plus alternate characters that have 1-48 hours on them). I stay up all night most nights playing it, and my grades drop fast when I play. I've lost all interest in everything. I've gone to other games, but within months I was back. I've tried quitting cold-turkey but I had extreme withdrawals that I couldn't stand, mostly nonstop shaking and crazy frustration with everything. I've played for about 30 hours nonstop before, which at that point I was nearly vomiting because of the lights flashing, but wanted to play more. I had to go to sleep ASAP so I wouldn't get back on. I love playing this with my virtual friends because they are nice to me when nobody else is. There are no video game clubs nearby that I can go to to get out of the house but still be in the environment.

Has anybody had any experience with this?
  2. justMe7

justMe7 Well-Known Member

Yeah... well no cause I've stopped it before it got to any extremes but I do understand some reasons for why this happens to people. My friend used to go sorta bonkers with it, but we helped level it out.

It's a big deal.. I dont mean the time usage I mean the reasons and the effort of your life that you are pouring into it. There are ways of finding interests that branch from it, but inevitably, the reasons why are the most important.