Stuck in a Crack

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Zola, Sep 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zola

Zola Antiquities Friend

Back in the summer of 2008 I was reasonably as good as could be expected from someone suffering from GAD and SP on a long term basis. I'm an independent professional earning my living from clients that lawyers send me. Clients who are directed by a court to go to mediation. I've been doing this for 22 years, full time. Made a half-assed income from it. Enough to satisfy my wife and myself (no kids). Then the recession showed up.

In the second half of 2008 things really started to degenerate. Fewer and fewer bookings. No answer to tries at getting another job.

Then we ate up our savings. Just to stay alive. That got us into the beginining of 2009. The savings ran out. So we tried to borrow and my brothers forked over $2500 apiece and told me that was it; don't come back for more.

By the Spring of 2009, nothing was happening. No income stream at all. We used our credit cards to live on. Bad and dangerous thing. But what alternatives did we have? Answer: we didn't, except suicide. Unfortunately or fortunately, I don't believe in suicide/homicide.

In July, the credit cards maxxed out. No more credit. No more income. No more loans. I bought a 20 lb. sack of rice and a 25 lb. sack of beans with what money we had left over.

In July I had 2 cases at $300.00 apiece. In August three. That's not exactly full time employment. It got me less than $1k.

Then the creditors started calling me. Very nice they were. They had a REAL difficulty in my not having a settled income. They couldn't understand someone who did not get a check every two weeks. These creditor calls are what comes before the collections people get on you.