Suicide due to hair loss

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by D1979, Jan 12, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. D1979

D1979 Active Member

This may not sound like a big deal to some people, but it is a huge deal to me. I have been losing my hair for more than 4 years now and it has robbed me of the ability to feel handsome and comfortable in my own skin, has ruined my self-esteem and confidence, and has destroyed my life. I no longer enjoy things that I love more than anything else in this world and I am a fragile shell of the man that I once was. I no longer ask women out and I need to get excessively drunk or high just so I can have a good time when I go out. I am currently on a medication to try to keep the remaining hair that I have left but it has given me terrible side effects, sexual and muscular. Life is just not worth living anymore now that hair loss has shattered all of my hopes and dreams. I often cry out to God for help. Either that or just to let me die in my sleep already.
  2. Petal

Petal SF dreamer Staff Alumni SF Supporter

Hi there, I can see how this would be troubling for you especially when trying to find a partner. Could you ask the doctor if there is another hair growth treatment you can try? One with less nasty side effects. Welcome to the forum.
  3. D1979

D1979 Active Member

Unfortunately there are only two FDA-approved treatments for hair loss. One is finasteride, which is the most potent one and is giving me the terrible side effects. The second is minoxidil (Rogaine) which doesn't really do much of anything. And I am not about to wear a wig. I just feel doomed since there is no way out of my hopeless situation.
  4. Unknown_111

Unknown_111 Forum Buddy Staff Alumni SF Supporter