Suicide for philosophical reasons

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by JFM, Jan 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JFM

JFM Member

Don't get me wrong: i've had a bad ride, and life circumstances have turned me into a cynical person who is incapable of having interest in anything.
    My life is not what I wished for when I was younger, but it's not bad to "hold on to"...I'm in my third year of college, getting a law degree, i have a few circles of friends, and i take pleasure in small things.
    But...Lately, for about a year now, i have been feeling exhausted and tired....I can't go on, i'm bored with life...It seems so predictable and useless that i have been planning killing myself simply because I believe life has no inherent value and nothing amuses me any more. I feel insane everyday. Even in the summer, after exams are over and friends are around, i feel empty and tempted to just go away. I feel selfish, because I'm aware of the pain i would cause everyone around me, and how I would poison everything for everyone remotely close to me.
    However, it's just unbearable: i used to survive on "long-term projects", but now I can no longer...Long-term seems pointless and dull, i feel like i've lived a whole lifetime in my youth - oh yes, the high school years...They were fun, because I didn't think about the possible future, just the "far away land of opportunities" that growing up seemed to be . No I see what that land id really like: a myth, that crushes the sunny hope of youth and trades it for the rainy day of denial and fear.
    I abused alcohol last year, drinking heavily three times a week...I've since quit, thinking that was the cause of my "existential angst" if you want to call it that, but it wasn't...