taking a year out

Discussion in 'Rants, Musings and Ideas' started by Goneofftrack, Sep 16, 2013.

1. Goneofftrack

Goneofftrack Member

hey all, I just joined im a newbie. I'm from Ireland F22. I have been battling with depression and anxiety all my life :( Major Buzz Kill. But anywho Im a real carebear, I am happiest when Im reaching out to people and being there for a person making sure they don't have to face anything alone. Im training in social work and this is something I plan to decide my life too. My other loves are poetry, dance, drama, teaching etc.

But I had college work experience my 3rd year, and it was at domestic violence refuge and I was doing play therapy with traumatised children. I couldn't cope seeing the children angry and distressed, nothing I seemed to do helped. I never been in the situation before, and due to stress. I failed my work experience and been told to a take a year out. Im just lost! Totally confused everybody has said enjoy time out, relax, and other have said study and work and cop on and grow up :( So I after I snapped myself out of suicidal thoughts, I did like 20 training certs and volunteering and decided to work on towards passing my driving test, getting a bf, and a job. Now its Sept I feel I have run out of steam and I don't know what to do?? Has anybody ever been in a situation like this. I feel if I don't do anything, Ill go back into depression but If I continue Ill crack from exhaustion. Im embarrassed cuz my friends are back in college, and everybody is moving forward I am being left behind. I am afraid that I have missed things up, and Ill make things worse.