The Army and Suicide.

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Armyguy, Nov 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Armyguy

Armyguy Account Closed

I am a soldier for the United States of America. I say this because I am proud of my fellow brothers and sisters who have served, are serving, or gave the ultimate sacrifice.

I recently fought one of the hardest battles I have ever fought, killing myself. I wanted to end the flashbacks, the nightmares, and knowing every waking moment was going to be horrid. I intentionally didn't sleep because I knew the demons of my past were there, waiting for me.

I feel like I am one of the lucky ones. I had several forum members send me messages offering their help and support. I want to thank all of you for offering to help me. I met someone here whom I clicked with instantly. They seemed to understand what I was going through and they willingly put their own issues to the side to help me. This person gave whole heartedly and never asked for anything in return. Thank you, so much, you know who you are. Even in my darkest times, you found a way to make me smile. You are a very special person and I will return the favor if you ever need it. While I will not get into a political debate regarding the war on terror, I am proud knowing that, in some small way, I have made the world a safer place for the people here. People who were willing to give up their own time, and talk about things that may strike a personal chord within themselves, to help a total stranger.

The Army just released this article that I thought I would post here for the people on the forum as well as any active duty men or woman who may look here for help. The long of short of all of this, and how it applied to me, is simple.