the future

Discussion in 'Help Me! I Need to Talk to Someone.' started by varek, Jul 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. varek

varek Well-Known Member

To be honest, right now the future scares the hell out of me. I think maybe it always has. Is that normal? Do people usually look forward to what's up ahead?

My prospects are looking pretty bleak at the moment. I'm a student, twenty years old, and I've just 'finished' my second year of university studying computer science. I say 'finished' because I actually failed two modules (both the final exams and coursework) and I have to retake all of it if I want to go on to my third year - three pieces of coursework and two exams - in about 33 days. I really have a lot of work to do if I want to be able to get a passing grade and go onto my final year of study.

The problem is, I can't seem to make myself do anything. I don't know what the fuck is wrong with me. Pretty much all I do is play video games and I don't even enjoy that anymore, all I'm doing is passing time until I don't know what. I drink a lot in the evenings because it makes the time pass quicker.

My parents tell me that I need to study and work hard so that I can get qualifications and get a job but I don't want qualifications or a job right now. I don't know what I want. I think I'm so afraid of failure that I don't even want to try..

I'm really lonely, and I'm really scared too. The future is coming at me like a steam train and I either need to get on board or get out of the fucking way, but I don't know which. I don't know who to talk to, I've never been close enough to my family to open up to them and I don't really have any friends. I don't even know what I'd say to them anyway.

I spent about half an hour writing this out. I'm crying right now and I feel sick. Honestly, maybe I'm hoping somebody here will take the time to read this any offer me some advice but I'm not really holding out. Everyone has problems.