The Internet is the cause of a lot of it...

Discussion in 'I Have a Question...' started by thepainwithin, Jul 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thepainwithin

thepainwithin Well-Known Member

I've been using the Internet since I was 7 in 1997. I heard somewhere that children who use the Internet before 12 are more prone to depression, anxiety, addictions and social phobias than their counterparts... looking at myself, I have no reason to doubt it.

But now I just use the Internet to play games. You have to have thick skin to deal with the trolling in video games, but that's never really a problem, the game usually ends then I move on and forget about everyone in it.

Now that I have a job where I sit on a computer 8 hours a day, I can't play games so I have to go to other websites like CNN or Yahoo Answers to pass the time. I just read "news" stories about a kid scraping his knee in New York and it causing a panic in California so parents won't let their kids outside without a leash and a tracking chip. It just makes me so mad how societies focus is on the negative. Everything bad that ever happens is on the news and all it does is put panic in people to the point where they say things like "the days of letting your child outside to play is over"... like are you kidding me? Why is this legal for news agencies to report on pseudo-news just to cause a panic to everyone? The odds of your child being abducted are so astronomically low, but it happens to 1 kid in bum f-ck no where and all the sudden every parent think it's going to happen to them.