The Worlds Selfish Motives for Preventing My Suicide

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Cedarman, Apr 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cedarman

Cedarman New Member

We have always had and loved dogs in our family. A few times in my life we have had an old dog that got to the point that the Veterinarian said the only humane thing to do was euthanize the dog. What kind of selfish monster of a person would keep the dog alive, suffering, just to avoid the personal pain and grief of the dogs passing?
    I am 39 and have been very unhappy my whole life. I have been seeking help from mental health pros since age 6, when I first tried to kill myself by jumping off a building. Now, after a lifetime of different meds, counseling, and inpatient and outpatient treatment, it is clear that my suffering will never end.
    Depression and suicide run in my family. I am a successful engineer with genius level IQ. I am not smart enough to figure out how to enjoy life, how to feel like I am living my life and not disconnected from reality. Sitting on a beach or locked up in a psych ward- and all things in between, feel the same. I am not experiencing anything, I am just aware of outside stimuli and how I am supposed to respond to it.
    What kind of selfish monsters would advise me to stay alive, knowing I have always been and always be suffering and miserable? Have I not earned the same respect as the family dog?
    Why is it ok for me to suffer just so my family does not have the burden of dealing with the fact that my suicide is an act of mercy?
    There is no cure for me, I have been trying for over 30 years. There is no help. If I go check back into Aurora (or anywhere else) I will get the standard “stabilize and release”.