Therapy or Medication Psychiatrist, which one?

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by yous, Nov 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yous

yous Well-Known Member

So this is my first time attempting to tackle my depression by going to see a doctor (I think I have bipolar).

I was give 2 choices.

One was to see a therapist which was a 50 minute talk with some doctor.
    The second was just a medical psychiatrist who will probably ask me brief questions then prescribe to me some medication.

Which is best? Which benefited more?

They asked me if I had thoughts of hurting someone or myself. I have thoughts of suicide and ways I was going about doing so, but I never really found myself to the point yet of acting upon it, though I do have a time. I guess you can say I sorta lied about the severity? I don't want to be caught in a "trap" where they have you locked up in a facility for days or can't work around the schedule. I don't want this to be a frustrating experience where I am controlled.

Please if anyone can share their experiences, that would be help A LOT. Thanks!

2. BeautifullyChaotic

BeautifullyChaotic Well-Known Member

I would talk to a therapist first, he or she can help you with some questions and quizzes that will tell you if you are bipolar and need medication. Before you go (if you decide to go) make a list of the things you want to address with the first meeting, such as bipolar testing and your "intention-less suicidal thoughts". The list will help keep you on track and accomplish what you want from the meeting. Then, if you test as bipolar he or she can refer you to a psych to seek more input and medication.

3. Butterfly

Butterfly Pokémon Master Staff Alumni SF Author SF Supporter