Therapy or no Therapy:

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Stranger1, May 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Stranger1

Stranger1 Forum Buddy & Antiquities Friend

I have been in therapy for 3 years now, and I don't see any progress. My tharapist says I am doing good because 2 Years ago you couldn't hardly get me out of the bedroom. It's my safety net. It is familiar to me. I have been locking myself in my room for around 11 years now. Before that, I was always a home body. I would go places but on my own conditions. I have always been this way. I have loved and lost several times. My therapist says it isn't my fault. She says they weren't ready to have a relationship. She told me it also didn't work because I always picked the so called bad girls in bars. I don't no if therapy is helping or not. I won't let anyone get close to me.
    There are several reasons I am like this. Not wanting to go on living is a part of me that hasn't changed. She tells me only about 30% of suicide attempts are lagit. The other 70% are just reaching out for some sort of help.
    I don't know if I beleive that. It wouldn't take much for me to do it. I can't blame anyone for the way I think. I brought that on myself. All though it runs in my family. I have two neices who are suicidal. One of them has the same problems that I do. My mom is suicidal. Her and my dad live with my older sister and her husband. They keep a close eye on her. Well thats about all I want to share right now.Thank you for listening,
    Stranger1

2. middleofnowhere

middleofnowhere Well-Known Member

Statistics are irrelevant. Any mention or attempt of suicide must be taken seriously. Don't let your therapist blow it off. If she/he seems to be doing that, you need to find a better therapist who will take you seriously. It doesn't matter if your threats are legit or just a cry for help. Both need immediate care, especially given your family history of suicide.