Thinking about freelance work

Discussion in 'The Coffee House' started by Shock, Jan 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shock

Shock Well-Known Member

Hi all,

One of the things I love about this forum is that you can just about raise a topic or ask a question about anything - and not get shot down. You will usually get good, well thought out and genuine advice. If people don't think what your saying is not a good idea they will tell you, but won't be overly negative or jerky about it. You rarely get trolled in this forum!

So, keeping in mind I am in the Coffee House, I wanted to get peoples advice on this:

I am a web designer by trade and currently work for a firm. I got a promotion a year ago that took me out of a hands on role into a management role. I dont hate it but by god I feel out of my depth sometimes. I think it is a big contributor to my depression. So I was thinking about going freelance in web design and was wanting peoples advice on this.

Now I know that there wont be many freelance web designers reading this but, hey, I thought I may as well open it up to anyone else who has gone freelance in any industry. I am aware its not going to be a walk in the park but I would appreciate any advice anyone could offer me ie: financial organisation, self promotion, whether industry events are worth it, a good place to get jobs, etc.

Thanks again all!

2. Mr Stewart

Mr Stewart Well-Known Member

hi Shock.