This may sound like a silly question...

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by starchild, Jan 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. starchild

starchild Well-Known Member

...but is the term anorexic strictly applied to people who think they are fat and thus restrict ther eating habits?

Because I'm fully aware that I have a problem; accoridng to the B.M.I, I'm about 42lbs underweight, and I don't not eat because I think I'm fat, but actually because I hate myself so much.

So would this be classed as anorexia, an eating disorder, or as self-harm?

2. Anju

Anju Well-Known Member

I'm tempted to say both, but I'm no expert.

If you're not eating and dangerously underweight, I think you can be classed as anorexic, even if you are aware that it is a problem....but then I think the whole thinking you are fat thing is a key element to anorexia.

Either way it could be argued that it is self harm, especially since you are doing it out of self hatred...

3. wheresmysheep

wheresmysheep Staff Alumni

Anorexia nervosa is a psychiatric diagnosis that describes an eating disorder, characterized by low body weight and body image distortion, with an obsessive fear of gaining weight. Individuals with anorexia are known to control body weight commonly through the means of voluntary starvation, purging, excessive exercise or other weight control measures, such as diet pills or diuretic drugs.

so it doesnt restrict itself to people who think they are fat and dont eat.

so by definition yes you could probably be considered anorexic. but that is for a proffesional to decide
    :hug:

4. starchild

Thank you for the replies.

I just wondered what the label might be, even though all they really do is stigmatise the individual. At least if it's anorexia I can embrace it, to some extent, as part of who I am.

5. downunder

downunder Well-Known Member