Tired of life kicking me in the face

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by iamchum, Dec 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iamchum

iamchum Guest

Hi SFers, beware: this is a long post.

I know I am new to this forum. I know my situation in life is probably not the worst here. I know I came to a conclusion last night that, to me, in a more healthy state of mind, would be considered irrational (I am the sort of person who would tell people to "soldier on", corny and a shit way to deal with these things, I know).

I am 23 years old. I am going for my PhD. I already own a home. I am self-employed. I am fat, but I am ok with my weight. What is wrong with me?

I work in the film industry. I sometimes work upwards of 90 hrs per week with no overtime (thats over 40 hrs per week unpaid) and far below industry minimum wage (because... apparently... if i don't do it, someone younger, hungrier and more willing to learn, will - or so the producer says). I have to fight for every job I get, it's like a never ending job interview. I've had enough of seeing others with below par skills getting permanent and ridiculously well paid positions by being chummy with the right people (stratification there). I am inherently unchummy, but I know I am skilled and work my arse off more so than most... Whenever I ask someone, a director, a producer, an executive, why can't I get a shot... This is always the answer: That's life, move on. I feel like I get exploited, and many of my co-workers tell me I am.
    I don't want to keep doing my job.