To tell my boss?

Deety

SF Supporter
So, I work in the health sector, and I am wondering whether I should tell my boss about recent events or not.
After an incident on NYE I made a stupid mistake due to being very emotional and ambivalent about whether I lived or died, & I wound up in the hospital for medical treatment. I was discharged the next day once I was medically cleared and after a very brief discussion with the on-call psychiatrist. During the stay I knew how to behave and what to say to ensure there were no red flags for the MH team, but I also felt quite happy due to some meds I'd taken as well.
After that and until the last few days I was feeling very low and thinking of cutting off all contact with friends etc. I am now feeling a lot more stable and better again. I just had an appointment with my psychologist, and had given permission for my GP to speak to her and vice versa. Anyway they both want me to be referred back to the MH outpatients system as they think they can't safely manage my care.
Now I am concerned that as a registered health professional, if I am back in the public health system for MH treatment it could be seen as impacting on my practice. I love my job; that and my children are what I live for. I am terrified this mistake I made is going to cause consequences that will back me into a corner.
I am not sure whether I should tell my boss what's been going on now, so that if anything happens in terms of my professional registration it's not just suddenly out of the blue, or if I should keep it to myself. When I am at work I am always professional and 100% dedicated to my job. When I was a student 18 months ago I was actively suicidal, but my job placements were the one place I felt like a normal person and they got me through a lot of the time. I only received high praise and commendations on my practice during this time, so I really don't believe my personal problems impact on the care I give.