Total newbie has a question

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by wstgry, Mar 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wstgry

wstgry New Member

Hello, everyone! I just joined the list and I have a few questions. My family practice physician suggested I go to the emergency room because of my suicidal feelings. Has anyone out there done that themselves? Can you explain what happens? I am afraid that they will just lock me up and throw away the key. I guess I just need some reinforcement and confidence building before I take such a life-changing step!

Please help. I am really in great distress.

2. Speedy

Speedy Staff Alumni

Hi wstgry,

Here in my town (USA), nurses or other hospital employees may first talk to a patient to see what he is experiencing......then, if they think admission might be something they (or the patient) may want to pursue, the patient may be brought to a room (possibly with a hospital bed), where a medical doctor evaluates him as does a mental health screener....questions from the mental health screener may stray from mental health history and prior medications to your suicidal feelings....then, the screener may deliberate (possibly with an on-call psychiatrist) to see what options they have for his treatment, whether hospitalization may be needed, etc.....the process may be long and taxing, but from my experiences one is treated within reason provided you be of good behavior during your stay.

Glad to have you in our community, and please take care. :hug:

3. houseofcards

houseofcards Well-Known Member