Trying to find help with the struggle

Discussion in 'Welcome' started by vixies77, Sep 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vixies77

vixies77 Member

Hi everyone, my name is Vikki, I'm 25 years old.. umm.. :new: explains it best..haha I have "self diagnosed" social anxiety/anxiety/depression. Never really had the money to see a professional or the will and motivation to try to find some free/cheap help. So in a time of deep despair I just did a quick search and stumbled on this site. I'm not very good with meeting new people..or interacting with most friends and acquaintances for that matter. But my hope is to force myself out of my shell enough to at least know that I'm not alone.

I go through periods of what I call deep depressions--I get ok for awhile, happy even, then I get this timeframe (a few weeks to a few months sometimes) where it's like a grey field of vision is put over me. On the best days, I move around normally, do what I need to do, and make sure I eat and try to at least have some type of social interaction. On the worst days I cry for hours on end, wanting to reach out to someone but not wanting to feel like a burden. In the end I wind up isolating myself from the people that do wind up showing some kind of interest in my feelings. I don't really know why I do the time I just think it's what makes me more comfortable. But it actually just makes me feel more alone and depressed.

My current state would probably best be described as..coping. Each day is a struggle to get out of bed, but eventually I do. I tried making lists, both written and mental, as to why I should stay alive. I try to be my best friend most importantly...try to force myself to eat when I don't feel like it, opt for the music that will at least not make me more depressed, try to force myself to do the things I used to be interested in with a hope that maybe it will make me happy once again.