Turning Over a New Leaf for Fall

Discussion in 'Strategies for Success' started by NeverM1nd, Oct 4, 2016.

1. NeverM1nd

NeverM1nd Active Member

Sorry about the pun-infused title. I'm a writer and in a mood. Either way, I've realized something about myself. No matter how much it sucks to admit, I HAVE become a defeatist. After being repeatedly disappointed, hurt, let down, etc. I expect the absolute worst from everyone and everything. For instance, I have this gallbladder operation coming up and in my head I'm gonna slip into a coma or become permanently disabled as a result. This must end! I've heard that thinking positive is a habit and being grateful is the foundation. I'm going to TRY this... Granted, my track record is terrible. Nevertheless, I need to do something! Anyone have any ideas on this or any other method of staying positive?

Petal, SillyOldBear and Frances M like this.
  2. Frances M

Frances M Mountain Woman

I'm SO happy to hear this! :)
    A great start is to start a gratitude journal. It works. I write every morning and every night about all the things I'm grateful for in my life. This helps me to see that my life isn't as bad as my depression wants it to be sometimes. Oh, and fear of the unknown is very normal when it comes to medical stuff...I wrote in another post that when I get a flu shot, I automatically "know" I've contracted the worst kind of flu imaginable from the vaccine lol...and it brings me to panic. If only I could change that negative thought to a positive one...the mind is so powerful. If I can imagine having an incurable flu, why can't I imagine having the happiest day of my life????