UK immigration: positive or negative?

Discussion in 'Soap Box' started by Abacus21, May 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Abacus21

Abacus21 Staff Alumni

As I'm studying this currently at uni, and am finding it fascinating (and have done ever since we started the module in September), I was wondering what all your opinions are on it, especially seeing as it's been a relatively hot topic in the recent General Election?

Is immigration to the UK a positive or negative thing? If not, why not - what could the UK do to improve the situation? Likewise, if it's a positive thing, why?
  2. Aurora Gory Alice

Aurora Gory Alice Well-Known Member

I see nothing wrong with immigration for the most part.
    Obviously mass immigration and asylum seekers can prove more problematic in the long run but I think immigration has made this country more multicultural and as someone who loves culture and loves the fact that I get to meet the world in my own back yard, I find it difficult to see the harm in it.
    I wish more countries were open to it the way Britain always has been.
  3. aoeu

aoeu Well-Known Member

Generally the stringent requirements to immigrate to a country cause the quality of immigrants to be higher than the quality of native-born individuals. In the US, for instance (I don't have numbers for the UK, I would suppose it works similarly), Asian individuals, despite suffering fairly widespread racism (moreso than blacks) tend to earn well over the national average because they have to be smart and educated to get into the country. I think they are in general good for the economy and country as a whole and Asian girls are hot.

I'm from Toronto, a city with 1.5 million immigrants (half the population), and it's a nice place to live, with little crime and little hatred.
  4. cloud9

cloud9 Well-Known Member