Uncontrollable Nervous Habits?

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by WhyMeWhy, Nov 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WhyMeWhy

WhyMeWhy Well-Known Member

Well.... I am biting my nails without even thinking now. I catch myself doing it and have to stop myself, but I can't catch myself in time! My fingernails are bitten past the cuticles... 4 fingers on each hand are hurting, some fingernails are bleeding, and I still won't/can't stop it untill the pain gets so bad that I actually catch myself chewing at the cuticles. Now I've been biting my nails for many years but it's only getting worse. It's never been this bad, and still I feel the urge to keep biting which I have to physically deny by catching myself the moment I start feeling the pain. But
    I'm still catching myself at the moment I feel the cuticle painfully tearing. And typing this is not hurting as much as biting I keep on doing to each finger in turn... the bleeding fingers are burning tho... & I still feel the urges to bite some more

2. jonstark

jonstark Well-Known Member

I tend to shake my foot. A lot.

3. Wierd

Wierd Well-Known Member

You could try putting on a pair of gloves when your fingers aren't busy doing precise work, such as writing or typing. Then, you'd end up biting the gloves instead. Not only would this prevent you from biting your fingernails, but this would also catch your attention and lesson your tries in the future. I wouldn't buy super-expensive gloves for this though.

As for my habits..
    -I unconsciously bite my nails too, but only enough to keep them trimmed. Mostly I stop when they are short, before they start to bleed or get irritated.
    -I shake either of my legs (but not both at the same time).
    -I crack my neck by quickly tilting my head back and pulling my shoulders back at the same time.
    -I crack my knees by bending them and stretching them out back out several times in a row.
    -I clench my fists.