Discussion in 'Rants, Musings and Ideas' started by Mirikun, Dec 17, 2011.

1. Mirikun

Mirikun Well-Known Member

ARGH. I'm just feeling so frustrated about all of this crap right now.

I just feel like I've had enough of all of this school shit. Seriously. It's like I'm just sitting in this stupid place I don't particularly want to be at every day, wasting my time to get some meaningless piece of paper. All the stress surrounding it is hindering me in working on actually building up a career, and working hard in the direction I'm going in. I'm studying illustration, and I know where I'm going with my art. And it's not arty farty bullshit for newspapers they try and teach us how to do there. Next to university, I do about three art commissioned a day which is enough to pay all my bills. And still I waste my time to get this stupid degree that I feel is just holding me back.

This probably sounds snobbish but... Seeing there are professional illustrators who have to work part time at schools, I'm obviously making more than them already. I don't know why I even bother. I'm just sitting here trying to hurry up and get my degree so that I'd have something to fall back on if things don't work out I guess. It's just that I feel I'm not getting anything out of this bullshit other than some stupid formality (eventually), less money, and less time to work on what I'm really good at.

I mean, I do kind of enjoy going to Uni... I wish they would do more proper workshops where they teach us how to do useful things. Most of the time we just go in, have some tea, make Christmas cards or something(lol hi again, kindergarten), then they send us off to draw some crap in town or tell us to cut stuff out of magazines or something. As much as I enoy this all, how the hell is th is what I'm paying thousands a year for? The only thing that we do regularly that I think us genuinely helpful to our skills and experience is life drawing.