Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by Sam3039, Nov 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sam3039

Sam3039 Member

Hi, I'm Sam.
    So who am I and why am I writing on this forum? Well I'm 24 years old, I'm a doctor in the Royal Navy and I've just returned to England after spending six months in Afghanistan. I have also been suffering from depression for years, it started in my early teens in fact, although it's difficult to be sure if it really was clinical depression. But now, although I am no mental health expert, I can clearly see all, if not most of the symptoms of depression. It has grown steadily worse over the years, but even more so over the last three or four; what's more I am regularly thinking of suicide.

So why am I depressed? Who knows. I certainly don't. Maybe it's easier to analyze patients than it is yourself? I'm inclined to agree. I have to admit though, I genuinely feel ashamed for the way I feel, considering that I have a pretty good life. I've been to university, I've studied as a doctor, I have a good job, I have a mother, father and brother. Despite all this however, I have always felt increasingly depressed. I look at others and they have suffered some massive tragedy, or have a clear reason. Me, I really don't know and it's not exactly easy approaching your colleagues to try to get an answer.

I have spoken to two medical professionals in the past. One, a GP, was terrible. She couldn't be more patronising if she tried, an experience I would not care to repeat. The other, a naval mental health nurse, better but still of little help. But that was while I was in afghanistan and he seemed focused on the post traumatic stresses that often appear on the battlefield, when I clearly told him that it had been present long before then.