What Happened To The Memories?

I met Alex when we were two. We were next door neighbors. We'd spend every day together. When we turned seven, he moved to Australia. I cried for days. I was seven years old, losing my best friend was the worst feeling. I still talked to him, though. I'd e-mail him. I'd talk to him on the phone. It wasn't the same though.
Later, he came back. And I was so excited. We weren't neighbors anymore, but I still got to see him often.
When we got oldeer, he was diagnosed with Leukemia. I was so scared. I wanted him to survive. He did.
The last time I saw Alex was February 28, 2009. He had a transplant for his cancer, and he had a party for the one year transplant anniversary.
His cancer came back after a while. I thought "If he survived once, he'll survive again, right?"
Wrong. I lost him when I was in seventh grade. That was two years ago. I'm a freshman in high school now. I cried for days when I lost my best friend, and I still do. /: I always wish I could have taken his place. Why couldn't I have gotten the cancer instead of him? I should've had it, not Alex.

Tmacster1

I'm sorry to hear about your best friends passing :( you have to remember what happened to him wasn't your fault. I don't think there was anyway you could of stopped that cancer from taking his life. I'm sure you made his life bright when you were good friends. I think you have a valid reason to be upset and that's completely understandable because you lost someone you cared about a lot. I'm sure your friend wants you to be happy and enjoy life. Cancer is a nasty disease that takes people we care for and love... Someday in the future hopefully they find a cure for it. Feel free to continue to post your emotions, feelings, and thoughts with us because I'm willing to listen to you :hug: and I know what it's like to loose someone close to you.

Trevor,

Witty_Sarcasm

πŸ¦„πŸ¦œπŸ§πŸŒˆπŸŒπŸ’–
SF Supporter