What happens if you call a hotline?

Discussion in 'Help Me! I Need to Talk to Someone.' started by Phrick, Mar 19, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Phrick

Phrick Member

I've always avoided calling a hotline because I assumed it is a one-way ticket to the hospital. But I'm regularly awake and depressed and obsessive at 2:30 in the morning when the only real people I trust are asleep. I can't help wondering what would REALLY happen if I called. Anyone able to offer your personal experience? Are they actually helpful? Do they just throw nice words around, but nothing substantially useful? IS it an automatic trip to a locked ward?
  2. Petal

Petal SF dreamer Staff Alumni SF Supporter

Hi there, I don't know where you're from but here (uk and Ireland) have the samaritans. They are not allowed to give advice. It is a listening service only. As far as I'm aware they will not call the police/paramedics to you. I have had some really good experiences with them. I think you should give them a try for those sleepless anxious nights.
  3. Phrick

Phrick Member

oh, I guess location would have been helpful. I'm in the US - California specifically. Thanks for your reply Petal.
  4. ChestnutMay

ChestnutMay Antiquities Friend

The answer to your question is....it depends on the hotline itself and the specific volunteer you reach. I have called hotlines several times, including one in San Diego, that were very helpful. They were sympathetic listeners and gave me some useful phone numbers. My experience with the San Diego hotline was actually among the best - they seemed to know the right things to say and seemed very interested and compassionate. If you are near San Diego, I would definitely recommend calling 1-800-SUICIDE since this was how I reached them - I was routed there based on my area code.