What happens...

Discussion in 'Suicidal Thoughts and Feelings' started by sithspit, Feb 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sithspit

sithspit Well-Known Member

What happens when this place just turns into somewhere else to put on a front?

I've been putting on a mask of happiness and content for about 4 years now. I do this to everyone - to my family to stop them freaking out, to my friends to stop being alienated, and from my girlfriends to stop them thinking I was an emotional wreck and leaving me (although they did anyway). Also, because I work in retail I have to put on a forced smile anyway, so I only let myself go and act "normally" (eg, suicidal) when there's no-one else around. That's why I thought this place was so great, because I didn't have to put on my fake-happiness and jokey nature (which I'm constantly told is "hilarious", even though I wish I could just be normal).

Problem is, this place is like any other forum - it has it's own cliques and groups of friends, groups to which I am a stranger. That's not anyones fault, it's the same in all walks of life. But because I'm a loner here as I am in the real world, I feel like I have to fake myself here as I do everywhere else. I posted my problems on here, and the thread sank without a single reply. I feel this place is just somewhere else for me to be alone amidst everyone else, and when the refuge turns into the rest of the world, what do you do?
  2. Reki

Reki Well-Known Member

Hey sithspit, I remember reading your other post. I'm sorry I didn't have a response for you at the time but rest assured that I did read it and the reason I didn't reply had nothing to do with you personally, I just didn't have the words for you. Maybe it was similar for some of the other members here.