What is hope?

Discussion in 'Rants, Musings and Ideas' started by Jericho, Mar 20, 2015.

1. Jericho

Jericho Well-Known Member

Here is my situation...

I grew up in poverty, which in and of itself isn't the worst thing. All that really meant for me is that I had to mature quickly, getting my first job when I was 13. I worked nonstop, from job to job, all the way until I turned 18 (every paycheck went to my parents to assist with groceries, bills, etc.). This was mainly due to the fact that I didn't want my younger siblings to feel as if we were poor. I wanted them to have opportunities that I didn't at that young(er) age. After I graduated highschool, I was off to college. However, due to my family's poor financial state, I stayed nearby so that I could still help them. I continued to work and give them all I could. I met a wonderful girl whilst in college, and I fell in love. Despite my miserable childhood, I was happy in life...because of her. We did everything together and I cherished every minute of it.

Months into our relationship, I proposed to her, and she said yes. We kept our engagement a secret for a while so that we wouldn't be judged for having such a fast-paced relationship. I was the happiest man alive...

It was on Christmas Eve that I planned a wonderful dinner and for us to reveal our engagement publicly to friends and family. The plans were perfect and I was extremely exited for the night to begin. As I went over to her dormitory to pick her up (I had a key), I found both her and a supposed friend of mine nude in her bed. I can only describe my feelings as a soaring eagle being shot down and falling into a dark ravine. Over the next few days, she told me she was sorry...but when I asked, she admitted it was not the first time. I was devastated.