What the hell is wrong with me?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends and Relationships' started by Kris.T, Feb 10, 2010.

1. Kris.T

Kris.T Well-Known Member

I had been hanging out with a friend of mine for a couple of months. Started to feel an attraction, and started the flirting, to see if there was interest on her end. Sure enough, after all this time of trying to get to this point, as soon as she said she wanted something to happen.. The feeling i had upto that point vanished, and I'm now crushing on someone else ill never have a chance with.

I now look at her as no more than a friend, after all this time, i now feel like shit for leading her on. How do i explain it to her, without coming across as the asshole ive been?
  2. hurttoomuch

hurttoomuch Member

Do you seek emotionally unavailable people? I did that and sort of got "hooked" on it, as the confusion of not knowing how things are going to proceed was a high. When I met a guy who was enthusiastic for me, I drew away as it felt strange. I didn't even realize this was what I was doing until I hurt this sweet man. I had to tell him that I needed to deal with things in myself first before being able to be in a healthy relationship. And...I did not accept any date offers from people afterward as I knew that it would hurt those who were only interested in being loved. Then I got too sick, so it became a moot point. :sad:
  3. Datura

Datura Well-Known Member

Maybe once you realize that the feelings are being reciprocated you get frightened due to it developing into something more. You could be afraid of getting too close to someone, or even just losing her as a friend.
  4. Avarice

Avarice Well-Known Member