What's a Crisis?

Discussion in 'Help Me! I Need to Talk to Someone.' started by Vaughan, Feb 1, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vaughan

Vaughan Well-Known Member

I don't know what constitutes a crisis. Let alone what posting on a board like this can achieve. I feel as though I have vocabulary of a crisis, but I learned it from over-wrought films and over-the-top dramas. My "crisis" isn't like that, unless I engineered it to be like it. Nothing about my situation will be unique or memorable. Shitty home life with simblings and parents (from whom i'm cut off from). A marriage that is alright, but that doesn't drive productive behaviors. I drank heavily for 40 years, but that all stopped 18 months ago and I can honestly say I don't crave booze at all. Not drinking just opened me up to facing more pain head on - we all drink for a reason, and use it as a shield, now the shield has gone.

I'm a professional person. I've been quite successful in making good money, helping others with their career, and gave been recognized in my industry. None of that matter to me at all. I get no real pleasure from it. I'm unemployed now, and it's just one day dragging into the next as debts mount and the world gets smaller.

I love my wife, we have a dog.I like music and have a lot of that. I get a lot or pleasure from it. But there's this immense pressure in the center of my chest, pressing outward. All the time.I take anti depressants, and I reckon they're kept me alive. As has getting off the drink. I give it another year.I can't be here this time next year. It's cold (can't afford heating),m I have to sit with blankets pulled around me the whole time. I sign on unemployed once every two weeks, and they grill me and threaten to take my money away. My wife and I are expected ti live on £68 a week. We can't do it. You can't budget £68 for a week with electricity and water and TV licenses.