who to stop for

Discussion in 'Self Harm & Substance Abuse' started by clare, Jan 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. clare

clare Active Member

hi im new at this. i was wondering if it's entirely possible to stop SH for someone else even if you dont feel you can cope without it. i only ask because my boyfriend found out i was doin SH and begged me to stop, i dont feel im emotinally stable enough to cope without it.
    iv tried some of the methods to stop like the elastic band round the wirst and didnt find it all that helpful.
    was just looking for some input from members who have stopped SH or from those in the process of stopping.
    thanks, clarex
  2. crookxshanks

crookxshanks Well-Known Member

i think that with anything that when you feel ready to stop, or calm down, then thats the time. not when anyone else has their say. i think the pressure actually makes things worse.

btw.. welcome x
  3. kayla19

kayla19 Well-Known Member

i think that SH can be really scary for people that don't understand it. i was with someone once that told me if i ever SHed again, he would break up with me. i didn't want to lose him so of course i said ok i'll stop. but i couldn't, i just hid it better.

i think that it can be hard, if not impossible, to make changes for somebody else if you're not ready or willing to make the changes. and maybe it will last for a little while, but i think motivation for long-term changes has to come from within and not from somebody else.

...if that makes sense.
  4. Leiaha

Leiaha Well-Known Member

Hiya Clare, sorry, I know nothing about SH but others here do :)

Just wanted to say :welcome: to sf

Lea :hug:
  5. xXWhateverItTakesXx

xXWhateverItTakesXx Forum Buddy

If you want something badly enough, you will do anything to get it. So yes, it is possible to stop, however it's easier said then done.