Why do you SI and what reactions have you had?

Discussion in 'Self Harm & Substance Abuse' started by JadedOutlook, Jun 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JadedOutlook

JadedOutlook New Member

Hi, I'm a newbie. I apologise if this has been asked 100 times before, but I have never talked about self-harm with anybody that I know, besides my partner (he saw cuts, I said I had done them, he looked highly uncomfortable, called me a freak and we never discussed it again) so I wondered what reactions people had had from others.
    I have been cutting my thighs on/off since I was in my early teens and I'm now in my early 30s, I also punch walls, doors, etc. I don't really understand why I do it, but have no desire to stop as it makes me feel better about myself.
    I know many self-harmers are proud of their scars and have no problem telling people about it, and there are others like me who go to great lengths to cover up their scars for fear of being branded a fruitloop or attention seeker.
    I guess I'm trying to understand the psychology behind self-injury as I feel at the moment that those who aren't ashamed of their SI have genuine reasons for it, i.e personal trauma, etc, where as I am ashamed of the cutting because I don't feel that my life has been terrible enough to warrant this behaviour.
    Any thoughts would be gladly appreciated.
    Thanks x

P.s When I was in labour with my second child, a midwife pulled back my blankets and stopped and stared at my (fresh) cuts, then carried on with what she was doing. Has anybody ever had someone discover their scars and ignore them like this?

2. Witty_Sarcasm

Witty_Sarcasm Writer, Musician, Fun Lover, Magic Maker