Won't let anyone notice

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by aaronpark, Jan 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aaronpark

aaronpark New Member

This is my first time on a board like this. I've been feeling depressed for probably about 2 years now and I used to talk to people about how I felt but I felt like I was being a burden to them. (I know this is just me thinking this but it still felt that way). In the mean time, I put on a happy face and pretend like everything is good, give myself an ere of false confidence and go on. But I'm not happy and I don't know how to make myself feel happy again. I think I should go see help but I feel like it's a waste of time. I know that I have friends and family that support me but I just don't want to feel pitied. I'm not really good with words and I'm probably doing this wrong but I needed to get this out.

If anyone else is feeling terrible but hides it so no one is actually able to help, maybe share your story. Or if you've felt this way before, maybe offer up some encouragement

2. Witty_Sarcasm

Witty_Sarcasm Writer, Musician, Fun Lover, Magic Maker

I don't think there is a right or wrong way to talk about your feelings. It's good that you are writing it down and letting it out. I know you said you don't want to be pitied but I don't think you will be. There are people that can help you with your depression and they won't look down on you. :hug:

3. Mr Stewart

Mr Stewart Well-Known Member

Most of us here, I'd hazard to say all of us even, know what it's like to lie to our friends and family in order to hide our problems. It's easier that way in the short term. Depression is bad enough on its own, let alone dealing with the less than helpful reactions and emotions that bringing up the subject can trigger amongst those closest to you. I've lied to my family my whole life about this. It never gets easier.