How are you coping in current job market?

Status
Not open for further replies.

nicesinging1

Hi, everyone. I just graduated this May from university. After I got my degree in Management, I got a temp job that lasted 2 months and now I am unemployed again. For the past few weeks, I have been applying to a bunch of companies for permanent positions but have only gotten few interviews so far. It seems the current U.S. job market is so competitive these days, especially with so many qualified candidates.
For people who have been job hunting or already found jobs they looked for, what do you think of the current U.S. job market? Do you have any advice for me in landing the job I want? I want to work in accounting field.
Thanks in advance for any insights.

Jenny

Staff Alumni
Hiya

I think the UK job market is very similar to what you describe also..

I graduated with a degree in languages and business in 2001, and was struggling to find a job then. I was doing temporary work before luckily being succesful in a job using my languages (although i don't enjoy using my language skills lol).

Since then Ive been made redundant because my job was outsourced to India last year.. (don't get me started on that one).. and since, i've been in the process of retraining to enter a new career of psychology/mental health. With no real qualifications in mental health/psychology it's been a very difficult task to find a job.. Again, i've been doing temporary work for one year now.. somehow by a total stroke of luck I found a job in a Mental Health department doing their administration. It isn't what I want to be doing with my life eventually, but it's definitely been a good insight in to the job and i've made excellent contacts in the field.