Being constantly isolated and rejected = bullying? What is worse?

Discussion in 'Bullying and Violence' started by Merlot, Nov 6, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Merlot

Merlot Member

When I was younger in high school I was often excluded and bullied -- it made me drop out of school. Although I was an honour roll student I could not stay in school due to the constant harassment from several individuals. I finally (later in life - at 21) went back to school, and then at 23 when to college. With life experience and some changes to my physical appearance, I did not get bullied in college - I had more friends in my post-secondary career in comparison to high school, however, I would often get left out in certain social functions.... being left out or ignored hurt...almost more then the ridicule from the stupid kids in highschool. Fast forward, I am now 25 doing my degree in Social Work, I have a couple of acquiantances but I am often always being left out in social functions and I never feel part of the 'group'. Feeling this isolation has felt worse than what I experienced in high school. I want to be included, I try to put myself out there, but I always feel so awkward. I wonder if anyone can relate? Is being constantly rejected a form of bullying?
  2. Clemens

Clemens Member

From your tone I feel like the rejection you feel is largely in your head. I can defiantly associate with this but I found myself fighting to get past the way I interpret others impression of me. If you can look past others actions and look to the way you react to others. I think it could help.
  3. caspar

caspar Well-Known Member