• Please read the thread in Forum News and Announcements pertaining to race related discussion on SF - thank you :)

Feeling like a failure

Status
Not open for further replies.
Going to be honest, this is my first time posting on here. I really just found this forum recently, but I just feel like I have no one to talk to. I've always been an honors student, straight A's, all APs, but last year I made two Bs both semesters. I know that to a lot of people that's still really good, but to me, it feels like I've failed, like I've ruined any chance of getting scholarships or getting into any of the schools I want. This year I was ambitious and took lots of classes, but none of them are going as well as I hoped. I have 4 Bs (it's only 1st quarter) but the quarter ends in 4 days and I am just not sure I can bring them up. I know 2 of them I can make A's, but that just doesn't feel like enough. I don't feel like enough. I work so so hard, but I just don't feel smart enough to accomplish my goals, and I'm just constantly stressed out. I'm not sure if I'm even doing this right, but I just felt like I needed to put this stuff out into the world

Sorry that you are feeling this way Alyssa.

to me, it feels like I've failed
It sounds like you are a very intelligent and talented person. It would be terrible if you threw your life away because of your grades.

Learning to be resilient and to accept negative outcomes, including what we see as failure, is very important, because everyone fails in one way or another eventually. Everyone.

Talking to a therapist may help you to work this out. It might even be helpful for you to learn some CBT (cognitive behavioral therapy) techniques on your own from a book.

You might be able to see a therapist for free at your school

I just don't feel smart enough to accomplish my goals