High functioning depression

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by lulumoon, Sep 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lulumoon

lulumoon Active Member

Hi all. I have been fighting depression for the last 20 years I am now 31. I have had relationships and been able to hold down a job whilst dealing with the most hideous depression i could ever imagine. I recently read an article on high functioning depressives. those who manage day to day activities but still have severe depression. I was wondering if anyone else has experienced depression like this. I have had moments of not wanting to get out of bed and live ( i have been this way for the past 3 weeks) but for the most part i mask my depression. I go to work i do daily activities. I am on medication long term. but i still feel the total pain and isolation of depression. I know depression can come in bouts my last bad episode was about 2 years ago and it feels like my current episode is turning into a living nightmare. I am now cutting people off and i have not been to work in a week. I feel tired and just want to sleep. I am not bi polar i do not experience extreme hghs and lows i am either managing or i am overcome by the depression. I am interested if anyone else who has depression experiences it this way?
  2. AnaNg

AnaNg Antiquities Friend