jobs and anxiety?

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by lost_in_a_fairytale, Apr 8, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lost_in_a_fairytale

lost_in_a_fairytale Active Member

I graduated from university last year but have been too scared to apply for jobs yet. I've not had a job before as I've always been way too nervous of the thought. I did some very brief work experience for a couple of weeks when I was a teenager, but that's the only sort of experience I've had. It wasn't stressful itself, but I still hated the lunch breaks being too nervous to engage in proper conversations with others and feeling isolated and stupid. Anyway, It's coming up to a year now since I finished my degree and I feel the pressure of the fact I should be working by now. I have looked at job sites sometimes, but even that's enough to panic me a lot or make me feel somewhat depressed. There was a time last year when I got so anxious thinking about jobs that the only way I could calm myself down was to take naps during the day as sleeping made me feel refreshed and calmer. I'm now thinking of asking in local shops about part-time jobs but even the thought of that makes me feel sick. I feel bad for putting it off for so long. Whether or not working will be as scary as I imagine I don't know, but I can't imagine how I could even cope in an interview, never-mind actually working. It makes me worry about the future, that I'll never be able to rely on myself because I'm not sure if I could hold a job down with my anxiety.
    Anyone else in the same position? Did anything make you feel better?

2. Freya

Freya Loves SF Staff Member ADMIN

Hi Lost,