My Seasons in the Abyss

Was this post helpful to your situation?

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.
I'll use this part of the forum to introduce myself. My name is Mike and I am bipolar, depressed, suicidal, and an ungrateful recovering drug addict. I am a college graduate, a registered nurse, and an unhappily single man with no children, no job, but a wonderful family who wants to keep me around as a pet. In other words, nobody understands the struggles I have gone through over the past 15+ years. I am the victim of a series of drug accidents where I played with psychedelic poisons that I thought would cure me. I first considered suicide in the fall of 1994 after mixing a strong hit of LSD with smoked PCP. I woke up the next day to find that I had a hard time forming new memories. I was unhappy all the time, and soon experienced the electric shock sensations that accompany antidepressant withdrawal, although I hadn't been on any antidepressants at the time. This was my brain dying, the needed chemicals no longer being produced, I had destroyed my organic mind's mechanisms to make me feel normal and happy. My condition persisted for two years until I was placed on the antidepressant Paxil which sent my brain into overdrive and made me feel I was cured. After doing every crazy thing I could during this extremely fun and rejuvenating manic episode, the drug finally wore off and I was once again trapped in the prison of depression. Two manic episodes later, which came from switching drugs, with the same letdown, I sit here five years after my last drug induced manic episode knowing that 1) another will not come, 2) I will never be myself again, and 3) I may only find salvation in death.