Please help OCD members

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by Khvde, May 23, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Khvde

Khvde Well-Known Member

Hi. Is there anyone who has OCD, here?

If there is, what do you do about it? Do you take meds? Which meds do you take? Do you go for no-meds treatment?

Also, is "always thinking about the same thing, even though it is upsetting" a sign of OCD?

I am asking this because when it comes to OCD people always give examples such as washing hands too much or doing some things too much.

undercoverlover likes this.
  2. Khvde

Khvde Well-Known Member

3. Acy

Acy Mama Bear - TLC, Common Sense Staff Member Safety & Support

Hi, Khvde. Since I'm not a doctor, I can't diagnose you or really say if something is a sign of anything. What I can say is that if you are concerned about the things you are doing/thinking/saying, a visit to your doctor might be a good idea.

OCD, to my understanding, can include thinking things over and over and rituals (behaviors that "counteract" a fear - like handwashing, checking again and again that stove is off, counting things over and over, arranging things in a certain way). Most people have some "habits" that are a little like "rituals" and those are quite normal...e.g., a favorite mug in the morning and we feel funny if we use a different one, double checking the door is locked, worrying about a bill over and over until we know it's paid).

When thoughts and/or behaviors begin to interfere with everyday life - when we can't move without double-checking, counting, having to do some ritual, thinking about a worrisome issue - then it might be time to see a doctor to see what's going on. The good thing, according to the medical literature, is that OCD is usually quite treatable (with meds and/or behavior therapy).