Some ray of hope in an otherwise dim cave

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone,

this is my first time here and I am glad to see that the people in need are making use of these forums. I do hope just talking about things is helping and knowing that you are not alone. Now here is my story.

Basically a few days ago a relationship I was in ended. I didn't think much of it initially because I didn't think the break up was serious. However she was deadly serious and when I learnt this, I panic'ed and tried every effort to win her back, to no avil. Soon after this I became extremely depressed. Things got so bad that I started contemplating suicide.

To be honest it wasn't just the break up that caused the suicide thoughts but also my university studies. Over the past few months my motivation levels have just been shockingly low causing me to fail a subject. I also was fired from my part time job because off poor attendance. With such limited social exposure I felt my historial social anxiety start to creep up again. This all resulted in my reasoning that life was just reverting back to being such a struggle (I have a history of social anxieties and depression. I was put on antidepressants and things started improving late last year. The progressed continued until mid this year which is where my story started).

Over the last 2 days or so ago I had begun planning my death. My letters were written out, my suicide plan was ready and I had the mind set that my life was going to end in just a few days. I was so serious in fact that I was purposely spending more time with my parents because I thought this was the last time I would speak to them. I so really want to tell them goodbye but I couldn't because they would foil my suicide attempt.