Teacher on the verge of meltdown

Discussion in 'Mental Health Disorders' started by OmegaSoul, Oct 24, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OmegaSoul

OmegaSoul Member

Hi,

I'm a chemistry teacher working in the UK and feel like I am on the verge of meltdown. I am a part-time member of staff being expected to run a department on my own, and additionally other members of staff even joke to me now that I'm running the entire science faculty with the amount of work I do.

I regularly work 70-80 hour weeks and when I get home all I want to do is sleep. Even eating takes a back seat and I only seem to get a chance during my commute to and from work.

Right now, I am struggling to keep going. My main social interaction is with the kids I work with and it's nigh on embarrassing to say but sometimes they are the people that keep me going.

Is there anyone out there with any advice or who could lend an ear just to chat and interact with on an adult level? I feel i need to break what could be a fatal loop sooner rather than later.

2. total eclipse

total eclipse SF Friend Staff Alumni

Perhaps hun talk with your doctor and get some time off work so you can get some much needed rest. Who ever it is that is full time there put some of the burden back on that person to carry some of the load ok. The kids well they are a very good reason to hold on they sometimes even can bring some sanity back where you don't think there is some

Don't do everything ok you are part time and make sure they know that if they want a full time teacher then they should be paying you more take care of YOU ok hugs

3. True-Lee

True-Lee Well-Known Member

Welcome to the Forum, My name is Leigh. I have been coming in here for about 2 weeks, I am suffering from Depression