• Apologies for the issue with a bizarre redirect on the site earlier today. There was a large server update and an error in an IP address had the traffic routing wrongly. No hacking or anything nefarious and nothing to worry about. Sorry for any stress/anxiety caused. Very best wishes - SF Admin

Helping a friend

Hello everyone!
A very close friend of mine has mental health issues (most likely anxiety or/and panic attack disorder). However, because of the anxiety, she is afraid to tell anyone besides me. I have some second hand experience with anxiety and panic attacks, and I read about them a lot in literature. However, there is only so much I can do...

Do you have any ideas how I might be able to get her to seek a professional help, if she doesn't trust anyone?

I talked about it with her and she acknowledged that might have a serious issue and should seek a doctor. She keeps saying that it is enough for her to have my help. It's not been very long since her panic attacks started to be serious, but she's had some kind of anxiety for a very long time, it just got worse in the last few weeks/months.

Luoma

Need someone to talk to? I'm here!
SF Supporter
Have you told her that she needs to see a therapist as soon as possible? By explaining that therapists are there to help her and that she can open up to them knowing they sign a form of confidentiality she might be more willing to go in there and talk. And who knows? She might actually want to speak to someone new so that she doesn't have to worry about what they think. Therapists tend to be rather relieving to those with trust issues because it's like they can finally just let things out. But, she might be different.

Could you perhaps go in with her during the first few sessions? She might be more calm then and during consequent therapy sessions she will be able to open up on her own. I hope she can get the help she needs!

yozhik