I can't control myself

Discussion in 'I Need Empathy and Compassion (No advice wanted)' started by BlueTyger, Jan 2, 2018.

1. BlueTyger

BlueTyger Member

I'm not good at writing so let's just get right into it.

I just randomly shouted at my family. They didn't do anything wrong, they just said the wrong things in the wrong moment. I shouted, I hit the fridge with my hands, I don't know why, I didn't think. Went upstairs, slammed the door and know I'm lying in the dark feeling guilty. I'm such an idiot. I mean I know I didn't do anything really horrible, I didn't hurt anyone (at least not physically) but this has been happing often recently. Why do I keep loosing control? I feel like this makes me weird, like a freak. An aggressive immature freak. And this is just one of the things going in my mind right now, it's just too much.

Sorry for the rant. This probably makes no sense, and sorry about my bad english. Thanks if you read all this.

2. Daíthí

Daíthí Chat Pro SF Supporter

Hey Blue, I understand where you're coming from. I used to have a hair trigger temper. Sometimes we just let our emotions get the better of us, but that's something we can work on. It's all about finding the appropriate coping techniques for dealing with those feelings. It isn't easy but it can be done.

may71 likes this.
  3. may71

may71 Well-Known Member

Having, and letting out, intense emotions doesn't make you immature, nor is it necessarily something unhealthy.

Your reaction sounds like it was much better than if you had just tried to keep a lid on your emotions.

4. Petal

Petal SF dreamer Staff Member Safety & Support SF Supporter

Hiya, think we've all been there. Everyone is entitled to a bad day, no one is exempt from that. You might have lost your cool, just aim to control your anger better in healthier ways, as they say, holding on to anger is like drinking poison and expecting the other person to die. You had a bad day, tomorrow might be brighter ((hugs))